Direktlänk till inlägg 17 december 2010

Our forth riding session...

Av Tina Karlsson - 17 december 2010 21:30

I am a little bit puzzled. Today when I entered the arena there was another horse there. I mounted and started to walk him. He behaved in the same way as he did last tuesday. He stopped, didn't answer the forward signals, walked a little bit, stopped again. What is the matter? Tried to make him go forward with the help of my whip but he didn't feel it due to the thick riding cover. So I decided to take that off, did so and mounted again. Now I asked him again to go forward and he hardly answered. Then I gave him my whip and he went forward. Prazed him and then I asked him to go forward again, but this time only with my leg aid. He answered. So I prazed him once again. I repeated this until I felt assured that he would go forward every time I asked him to do so. The other horse left the arena and now he started to feel normal again. Now I could ride him and he answered me every time I asked him to do something for me. Hmmmmm. Can it be that he isn't used to work among other horses? I got the feeling that he would prefer to stand still and just observe the other horses. Anyway, I decided that he has to listen to me, even if there are other horses in the arena. I trotted him in a low long form and work a little bit with the shoulder in on the diagonal. I also worked with the gallop, he has some difficulties to catch the gallop so we worked on that to. I think it will take some time before he and I fully understand each other but I am sure that it is going to be really grate in the future. I fear that he has been unprogrammed. I need to start all over with the basics.

Today I also increased the hay with two kilo. He need to eat more due to his weight loss, propabaly due to the long transport home. He now gets 10 kg of hay per day, 0,5 kg of Fibergii, 2 dl (betfor) morning and night, probimin and vitamine B.

So hopefully he will gain some weight pronto.

Tomorrow I will take him out on a soft riding in the nature. Hope he will enjoy that.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Tina Karlsson - 25 maj 2016 09:34


Long time since my last entry, but better late than never.... During Autumn/Winter 2015--2016 we have trained and trained and trained. We should have done our debut in mid-level dressage during Autumn 2015 but Dinio got a hoof injury so that ended th...

Av Tina Karlsson - 17 december 2015 11:36

2015 is soon over and a new year is ahead of us. 2015 has been a good year, both for Dinio and me. We have worked and trained better than ever. We have participated in 3 competitions with 2 placings. The plan to start mid-level-competitions during th...

Av Tina Karlsson - 8 november 2015 10:43


Well, November is here and the days are getting shorter and shorter for every day that passes bye. Soon it is dark when you leave home for work in the mornings and dark when you leave work for home in the evenings. This means that from now Dinio and ...

Av Tina Karlsson - 13 augusti 2015 10:11

During autumn 2014 I moved Dinio to a new stable. Here we have better training possibilities and better service, which Dinio needs due to his stomach problems. Gladly I can say that his problems has gon away. Just some few colics during this summer (...

Av Tina Karlsson - 30 april 2014 10:49


It has been a while since my last entry. The winter has passed and the spring is finally here. For the first time, since Dinio came to me, I have been able to train him during the hole winter. An indoor arena is an fantastic asset, especially up here...

Skapa flashcards