Alla inlägg den 30 oktober 2011

Av Tina Karlsson - 30 oktober 2011 19:18

Sadly Dinio got a minor gas cholic again, last thursday evening. It appeared after our session and was soon over. Left the stable around 23.00 hrs. I have noticed earlier that my smart horse has learned how to eat fast from a hay net with small squares (4 by 4 cm). When I started to feed him with this for about 3 weeks ago, it really slowed down his way of feeding. So now I have to think of another way to slow his feeding down a bit. I have also noticed that while he is feeding outdoor he feeds slowly. probably because there is so much to look at and to observe. After a lot of thinking I am now trying this:

Increased the morning hay from 2,5 kg to 3 kg. (feeding outdoor at 06.30)

Increased the luncheon hay from 2 kg to 3 kg. (feeding outdoor at 11.00)

At 14.00 hrs feeding 1 kg outdoor. After finishing this serving mash indoor.

At 16.00 hrs feeding 1 kg indoor, spread along the floor. Tested this during the weekend and this is slowing him down.

At 18.00 hrs - his dayly exercise.

At 19.30 hrs - 1 kg of hay spread along the floor

At 21.30 hrs - 3.5 kg of hay in a slow feeding hay net.

So now I really hope this will do!

Otherwise Friday was a resting day. His was a bit warm in his left front leg and hoof. Saturday he was equaly warm so I decided to give him an easy session and a slow walk around Täljö, which he appreaciated very much. During our session he was just fantastic. Today he was once again more warm in his left front leg, but not much. Once again he was just fantatstic, alert and soft. If the warmth remains I have to check it with a vet.


I really hope this is the last time I am writing about Dinio getting a gas cholic!


Adding a photo from lovely Mid summers day - my darling mother and Dinio - walking together and tasting grass!

 





Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards